top of page





Our 2021-2022 and 2022-2023 Board Chairs

The 2021-2022 school year was exhilarating as classrooms filled with students for the first full year since the start of the pandemic. Incredible work was done by teachers and the Student Support team to help students adjust following the unprecedented challenges of the past few years. And while that was our priority, the administration was clear that the work of the strategic plan required investment last year as well. The events of the past several years revealed the plan’s focus areas—student well-being & social emotional development, diversity, equity, inclusion, & justice (DEIJ), leadership & agency, and academic excellence & innovation—to be even more critical than before.

Highlights of this work last year included expansion of student support offerings and the launch of our Deeper Learning Initiative, which focused on Westridge Advanced Courses in the Upper School and included developing unifying principles of course design across grades 4-12 to engage students in deeper, more meaningful 

Richard C. Fung

Board Chair 2021-2022

Valerie Rubio Lemmon '92
Board Chair 2022-2023


learning. In addition, two positions crucial to achieving the curricular and programmatic goals of the strategic plan were established—director of teaching and learning (James Evans) and director of equity (Ian Tatum). Thoughtful evolution of our programs will ensure today’s students are best prepared for their futures and that our program continues to inspire creative thinkers, compassionate young women, and courageous leaders for generations to come. 

The culture of philanthropy that our parent and alumnae volunteers have worked to develop continues to spread and deepen. The Annual Fund, now named the Westridge Fund, continued its year-over-year growth last year, exceeding our goal with more than $1.5 million contributed.

Importantly, giving to the school’s endowment reached significant milestones. This year, Robert Day, chairman of the W. M. Keck Foundation, made the largest, one-time gift in school history, $5 million, to our endowment. Giving to the alumnae-founded Forever Fund for financial aid is nearing its $1 million goal. And Head of School Elizabeth J. McGregor was honored for her June 2022 retirement with the community raising $1 million to establish the McGregor Fund to support DEIJ.

The McGregor Fund is a fitting tribute to a tireless advocate for Westridge and girls’ education. Liz’s work from curriculum innovation and expanding DEIJ efforts to strengthening school administration and developing the strategic plan that guides us today, leaves the school in an incredibly strong position. And, it enabled us to attract Andrea Kassar, our 12th and current head of school, who has all the attributes to build on Liz’s legacy and move us forward in the continued pursuit of excellence.

We believe that progress in this time of rapid change in education and the world is our responsibility to our students, and the great progress of the last year was made possible by you. We thank you for supporting Westridge in meeting this responsibility, advancing our mission, and looking forward to an ever-brighter future for our students.

Board of Trustees

* indicates deceased

Richard C. Fung, Chair

Darrell Chulay Banta ’77

Holly Bowyer

Mike Burke

Sigrid Burton ’69

Laureen B. Chang

Kenneth T. Fong

Akila Gibbs

Kirsten L. Hansen ’83

Marc S. Harris

Erik Hovanec

Suzanne D. Icaza

Tina Li Kleindorfer

Valerie Rubio Lemmon ’92

Richard B. Lord

Donald L. Morgan, Ph.D.

John Scott Mulchaey, Ph.D.

Ismael Obregon

Daniel Prince

Elizabeth Russell ’69

Kristan Browne Swan ’86

Emily Ko Wang ’93

Joseph J. Ybarra

Teri Wilde ’69, Alumnae Board Chair

Trustees Emeriti

Susana Smith Bautista ’84

Tempe B. Brooks

David C. Elliot*

Ellen Ellis*

Richard N. Frank*

Judith K. Gain

Brooke Larsen Garlock ’70

Dorothy Hughes Matthiessen ’52

David G. Mgrublian

Robert P. Miller*

Helen Johnstone Rose*

James F. Rothenberg*

Susan Shepherd Sweezy*

Shaw B. Wagener


Teri Wilde ’69, Chair

Jessica Yang ’10, Vice Chair

Taylor Callobre ’08

Elizabeth (Liz) Carlton ’03

Eliza (Ellie) Diop ’10

Veronica Escobedo ’08

Monica Oller ’91

Nicole Rabaudi ’90

Marianne Van Vorst Ryan ’79

Melissa Wu ’94


Alumnae Board

Alicia Henry ’01

Ann Hazeltine Hyde ’66

Julia Tyson La Grua ’71

Thembisa Mshaka ’88

Shahbano Nawaz ’98

Cassandra Nufable ’12

WPA copy.png


Executive Committee

Ellen Tsang

Lisa Burke

Edie M. Tyebkhan ’86
Past President

Allison R. Dietrick ’93
Vice President Upper School


Bianca Martinez
Vice President Middle School

Eliz Lee

Vice President Lower School

Patrick Connor

Vice President Annual Fund

Mary McCloud
Vice President Communications

Rayann Scolnick
Summer Opportunities Fair Chair


Wendy Wu


Angela Rashid
Assistant Treasurer

Sue Moses

Jasmine White
Admission Liaison

bottom of page